. info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Locarno festival celebrates its 70th anniversary this year

Locarno festival turns 70!

It’s still several months before the international cinema festival in Locarno will be officially opened. It is one of the best-known European festivals, which is equally prominent as its counterparts in Cannes, Venice or Berlin. Locarno festival celebrates its 70th anniversary this year.

During the course of anniversary festivities, the resort town of Locarno in Southern Switzerland not only remembers its past glory, but also plans for the future. Locarno is getting ready to become a genuine audiovisual town: its government decided to carry out a large-scale infrastructural modernization. Very soon the grand opening ceremony of the Locarno Cinema Palace will reveal its new cinema halls fitted with state-of-art equipment.

The festival administration also holds a range of events aimed at young cinematographers. The Youth Advisory Board — a consultative counsel for young people aging from 16 to 25 ― is established. According to the plans, the board will welcome aspiring film-makers twice or thrice a year to discuss the relevant topics.

Знаменитая площадь Пьяцца ГрандеThe famous square of Piazza Grande, photo WEB

The heart of the festival is the central town square Piazza Grande, which can accommodate up to 8000 spectators. Films will be projected to the Europe’s largest screen (26 m, height ― 14 m), while people will enjoy the comfort of black-yellow armchairs ― the color palette is chosen to resemble Pardo the Leopard, the festival’s official symbol. Every year the viewers watch films under the star-studded sky, while laughing, wondering or even crying out of compassion to the characters on the screen. The town turns into an enormous cinema, where everything is dedicated to cinematography. Movie posters and Pardo statuettes are everywhere…

Sometimes at a random small restaurant you can spot a celebrity drinking Ticino wine from a typical ceramic “bocallino” goblet. Nearby, cinema critics are fervently discussing something with aspiring film-makers, while at the next table an elderly Swiss couple is leading an unhurried conversation over a cup of cappuccino. Locarno attracts cinema enthusiasts from all over the world. Here they can express their thoughts, exchange new ideas and socialize with fellow cinematographers.

An interview with an Italian actor Cesare Cremonini during the festivalAn interview with an Italian actor Cesare Cremonini during the festival, photo © Locarno Festival

This year Switzerland has dedicated three historical events to the festival’s 70th anniversary. Swiss Post has released a special stamp, which will undoubtedly become a philatelic rarity.

A stamp dedicated to Locarno festival A stamp dedicated to Locarno festival, photo WEB

The Swissminiatur museum complex in Melide has recently presented a new model ― a 1:25 copy of Locarno Piazza Grande square ― and little viewers are already starting to occupy the miniature seats in front of the screen.

Swissminiatur’s mini-spectators are ready to watch moviesSwissminiatur’s mini-spectators are ready to watch movies, photo © Locarno Festival

But the main present to the festival is the release of new 20-franc bills, which feature the festival’s symbols. A wonderful global-wise advertisement campaign!

The 70th Locarno festival will be held from August 2nd to 12th, 2017.

Giulia Cassoni, Locarno, Switzerland

+41 (0)91 911 95 50 info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

В этом году Локарнский фестиваль отмечает своё 70-летие

Фестивалю в Локарно 70 лет!

Осталось несколько месяцев до официального открытия международного кинофестиваля в Локарно — одного из самых известных в Европе, стоящего в одном ряду с фестивалями Канн, Венеции и Берлина. В этом году Локарнский фестиваль отмечает своё 70-летие.

Празднуя юбилей, курортный город южной Швейцарии Локарно не только вспоминает славное прошлое, но и устремляет взгляд в будущее. Локарно готовится стать настоящим аудиовизуальным городом, поэтому властями было принято решение провести крупную модернизацию инфраструктуры. В ближайшее время состоится торжественное открытие Дворца кино, в котором три новых кинозала оборудованы с использованием передовых технологий.

Дирекция фестиваля проводит также ряд мероприятий, посвящённых молодым кинематографистам. Создан Youth Advisory Board — консультативный совет для молодых людей в возрасте от 16 до 25 лет, который планирует собирать молодёжь в Локарно два-три раза в год для обсуждения интересующих её тем.

Знаменитая площадь Пьяцца ГрандеЗнаменитая площадь Пьяцца Гранде, foto WEB

Сердце фестиваля – центральная площадь города Пьяцца Гранде (Piazza Grande), вмещающая 8000 зрителей. Для показа фильмов устанавливается самый большой в Европе экран (26 м, высота 14 м) и размещаются чёрно-жёлтые кресла в соответствии с цветом леопарда Пардо – символа фестиваля. Каждый год зрители смотрят фильмы под ночным звёздным небом, смеются, удивляются, а порой даже плачут, сопереживая героям на экране. Город превращается в огромный кинотеатр, где всё посвящено кино. Везде афиши, статуэтки Пардо

Порой в маленьком ресторане можно увидеть знаменитость, пьющую тичинское вино из типичного керамического бокала «боккалино», рядом что-то бурно обсуждают кинокритики и молодые кинематографисты, а за соседним столом элегантная пожилая пара из немецкой Швейцарии размеренно беседует за чашкой капучино. В Локарно собираются любители кино со всего мира, чтобы высказать своё мнение, обменяться новыми идеями или просто пообщаться с друзьями кинематографистами.

Интервью итальянского актёра Чезаре Кремонини (Cesare Cremonini) во время фестиваляИнтервью итальянского актёра Чезаре Кремонини (Cesare Cremonini) во время фестиваля, foto © Locarno Festival

В этом году Швейцария посвятила 70-летию фестиваля три знаковых события. Швейцарская Почта выпустила специальную марку, которая, несомненно, станет филателистической редкостью.

Марка, посвящённая Локарнскому фестивалюМарка, посвящённая Локарнскому фестивалю, foto WEB

Музейно-выставочный комплекс «Швейцария в миниатюре» в Мелиде недавно торжественно открыл новую модель – копию Локарнской площади Пьяцца Гранде в масштабе 1:25, где миниатюрные места перед экраном уже начинают занимать маленькие зрители.

В «Швейцарии в миниатюре» мини-зрители уже готовы к просмотру фильмовВ «Швейцарии в миниатюре» мини-зрители уже готовы к просмотру фильмов, foto © Locarno Festival

Но главный подарок Фестивалю – выпуск новых бумажных денег, стоимостью 20 франков, с символикой фестиваля. Прекрасная реклама во всём мире!

70-е издание фестиваля в Локарно пройдёт со 2 по 12 августа 2017 года.

Джулия Кассони, Швейцария, Локарно

Статьи