info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Venice Biennale 2017

Venice Biennale 2017

Once in every two years since 1895, Venice traditionally turns into the international center of contemporary art. Artists, sculptors, museum staff, journalists, curators, gallery owners, collectors, art enthusiasts and interested people come here from all over the world. New ideas, new names, new trends...

On Sunday, May 13th, 2017 the official opening of the 57th Venice Biennale took place. The event will last till November 26th, 2017. 120 artists from 51 countries of the world participate in the contemporary art exposition; 103 of them display their works at the Venice Biennale for the first time.

The expo title VIVA ARTE VIVA means ”Long live the living art”The expo title VIVA ARTE VIVA means ”Long live the living art”, photo, WEB

This year the curator of the world’s most prestigious contemporary art exposition is Christine Macel, an art critic and the principal curator of the Georges Pompidou Art and Culture Center in Paris.  The title of the event – VIVA ARTE VIVA ― can be translated as “Long live the living art”. “Viva Arte Viva is an exclamation expressing passion towards the art and the artist”, ― the Biennale curator explains.

On May 13th, 2017 the official opening of the 57th Venice Biennale took place, photo © Giulia IlinaOn May 13th, 2017 the official opening of the 57th Venice Biennale took place, photo © Giulia Ilina

“Facing conflicts and unrests of the world, contemporary art remains the most valuable testimony of humanity. While the idea of humanism is at risk, art is the last fortress we should guard; the garden we should carefully grow without paying attention to fashion or anyone’s interests; art is an alternative to individualism and indifference, – Christine Macel believes. – That is why, the artist’s voice and stance are play a decisive role in many of modern discussions. It is due to these personalities the pattern of the tomorrow world is drawn ― the world of blurred borders, where artists are able to feel the future better than the others”.

Venice Biennale 2017Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

86 countries are represented at the Biennale at historical Giardini pavilions, Arsenal and in the center of Venice. Three countries take part in the contemporary art exhibition for the first time: Antigua and Barbuda, Kiribati, Nigeria.

Venice Biennale 2017

Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

The Russian pavilion (its curator is Semyon Mikhailovski, the rector of the St. Petersburg Academy Institute of Painting) was named Theatrum Orbis Terrarum, which can be translated from Latin as “The Spectacle of the Earthly Circle” and coincides with the title of the first world atlas, made in the 16th century. The modern interpretation of the Orbis Terrarum featured a Russian-American artist Grisha Bruskin with the Decorations Change installation, the Recycle art group of two artists from Krasnodar Andrey Blokhin and Georgy Kuznetsov with the Blocked Content installation and a Rodchenko School of Photography and Multimedia graduate Sasha Pirogova with her video “Inner Physics”.

Russian pavilion, Venice BiennaleRussian pavilion, Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

The Chinese pavilion (curator ― QiuZhijie) offers an exhibition Continuum – Generation by Generation, where the works of contemporary artists are combined with millennia-old traditions of the Chinese culture. The opening ceremony at the Chinese pavilion featured one of the oldest visual performances ― Chinese shadow puppetry. This art is more than 1700 years old but the considerable age doesn’t impede its ability to charm the viewers.

Chinese pavilion, Venice Biennale

Chinese pavilion, Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

The central position of the English pavilion is occupied by the Folly ― a sculpture work by Phyllida Barlow, composed of massive constructs made of “common materials” – plywood, plaster, cardboard, fabric.

English pavilion, Venice BiennaleEnglish pavilion, Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

The pavilion of Georgia looks very lyrical ― it is an old house with the leaking roof; it is completely awash with water. Old things, drops of water, huge empty jars and aluminum vats, wet lace curtains on misted windows, old photos on the walls ― nostalgia is made alive in the Living Dog Among Dead Lions installation by Vajiko Chachkhiani. The world of the past stays still for several seconds and then fades away with the raindrops right in front of the viewer.

Georgian pavilion, Venice Biennale

Georgian pavilion, Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

One can speak about other pavilions for hours, but it’s better to come to Venice in person to witness everything by your own eyes. 

Venice Biennale 2017Venice Biennale, photo © Giulia Ilina

Moreover, simultaneously with the Biennale, 23 parallel events and special projects are taking place in the city.For instance, A World of Fragile Parts exposition organized jointly with the London Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A), which is devoted to applied arts and preservation of cultural heritage.

A World of Fragile Parts exhibition

A World of Fragile Parts exhibition, photo © Andrea Avezzù, courtesy of La Biennale di Venezia

The city guests can also visit the exposition of a Belgian artist Jan Fabre (one of the exposition curators is head of the Stage Hermitage Museum’s Contemporary Art Department Dmitry Ozerkov). Another example is the Man as Bird. Images of Journeys exhibition organized by the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, which offers to contemplate the topic of technology and culture.

Leonid Tishkov, Private Moon, 2003–2017. Light installation

Leonid Tishkov, Private Moon, 2003–2017. Light installation, photos, videos © Courtesy of the artist

Palazzo Franchetti displays a beautiful Glasstress 2017 project devoted to glass, the specialty of Venice.

Проект Glasstress 2017, посвящённый стеклу

The Glasstress 2017 project devoted to glass, photo © Giulia Ilina

Another notable event is a personal exhibition of a Russian artist Valery Koshlyakov ”We Have Never Stopped Building Utopia” in the Ca’Foscari University; the exhibition was supported by the Museum of Russian Impressionism. 14 years ago the artist represented Russia at the Biennale in Venice. You can see his transparent, light, illusionary works in the most romantic Italian city till July 29th, 2017.

Russian artist Valery Koshlyakov

Russian artist Valery Koshlyakov, photo © Giulia Ilina

2017 Venice Biennale is an anthem to “new humanism”, where the main character doesn’t suppress the surrounding world, but glorifies the triumph of human abilities through art. And this year’s capital of “new humanism” is Venice.

Giulia Ilina, Venice

Articles

+41 (0)91 911 95 50 info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

Венецианская Биеннале 2017

Венецианская Биеннале 2017

Венеция традиционно с 1895 года раз в два года становится международным центром современного искусства. Со всего мира съезжаются художники, скульпторы, музейные работники, журналисты, кураторы, галерейщики, коллекционеры, любители искусства и просто любопытствующие. Новые идеи, новые имена, новые тенденции...

В субботу 13 мая 2017 г. состоялось торжественное открытие 57-ой Веницианской Биеннале. Она продлится до 26 ноября 2017 г. В выставке современного искусства принимают участие 120 художников из 51 страны мира; 103 из них впервые выставляются на Венецианской Биеннале.

13 мая 2017 г. состоялось торжественное открытие 57-ой Веницианской БиенналеНазвание выставки – VIVA ARTE VIVA, что означает «Да здравствует живое искусство», фото WEB

В этом году куратор самой престижной в мире выставки современного искусства – француженка Кристин Масель (Christine Macel), художественный критик и главный куратор Национального центра искусства и культуры Жоржа Помпиду в Париже.  Название выставки – VIVA ARTE VIVA, что означает «Да здравствует живое искусство». «Viva Arte Viva как восклицание, выражение страсти к искусству и художнику», – поясняет куратор Биеннале.

13 мая 2017 г. состоялось торжественное открытие 57-ой Веницианской Биеннале13 мая 2017 г. состоялось торжественное открытие 57-ой Веницианской Биеннале, фото © Giulia Ilina

«Современное искусство, сталкиваясь с конфликтами и потрясениями, происходящими в мире, остаётся наиболее ценным свидетельством человечества. В то время как сама идея гуманизма находится под угрозой. Искусство является последней крепостью, которую нужно охранять; садом, который нужно бережно взращивать, не обращая внимания на моду и чьи-либо интересы, искусство – это альтернатива индивидуализму и безразличию, – считает Кристин Масель. – Поэтому голос и позиция художника приобретают решающее значение во множестве современных дискуссий. Именно благодаря личностям определяется рисунок завтрашнего мира, мира с неопределенными границами, где художники, лучше, чем другие, чувствуют будущее».

Венецианская Биеннале 2017Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

На Биеннале представлены 86 стран в исторических павильонах Джардини, в Арсенале, а также в центре Венеции. Три страны участвуют в выставке современного искусства в первый раз: Антигуа и Барбуда, Кирибати, Нигерия.

Венецианская Биеннале 2017Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

Российский Павильон (куратор Семён Михайловский, ректор Санкт-Петербургского государственного академического института живописи) выбрал название Theatrum Orbis Terrarum, что в переводе с латыни означает Зрелище Круга Земного и является названием первого атласа мира XVI в. В современной интерпретации «круга земного» приняли участие российско-американский художник Гриша Брускин, представив посетителям инсталляцию «Смена декораций», арт-группа Recycle двух краснодарских художников Андрея Блохина и Георгия Кузнецова с инсталяцией Blocked Content, а также выпускница Школы фотографии и мультимедиа им. Родченко Саша Пирогова с видео Inner Physics.

Русский павильон, Венецианская БиенналеРусский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

Китайский павильон (куратор QiuZhijie) предлагает выставку под названием Continuum – Generation by Generation, где творчество современных художников связано с тысячелетними традициями китайской культуры. На открытии китайского павильона был представлен один из самых древних визуальных перформансов – китайский театр теней. Этому древнему искусству уже более 1700 лет, но несмотря на свой солидный возраст, оно по-прежнему завораживает зрителей.

Китайский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia IlinaКитайский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

В центре английского павильона скульптурная композиция Филлиды Барлоу (Phyllida Barlow) под названием folly, состоящая из массивных конструкций, выполненных из «простого материала» – фанеры, гипса, картона, ткани.

Английский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia IlinaАнглийский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

Очень лирично смотрится павильон Грузии – это старый дом, с протекающей крышей, полностью залитый водой. Старые вещи, капли воды, огромные пустые банки и алюминиевые тазы, мокрые кружевные занавески на запотевших окнах, старые фотографии на стенах – ностальгия словно оживает в инсталляции «Живая собака в окружении мертвых львов» Важико Чачхиани, мир прошлого застывает на несколько секунд, исчезая на глазах зрителя вместе с каплями дождя.

Грузинский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia IlinaГрузинский павильон, Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

Можно долго рассказывать о других павильонах, но лучше приехать в Венецию и всё увидеть самим.

 Венецианская Биеннале 2017Венецианская Биеннале, foto © Giulia Ilina

Кроме того, в городе одновременно с Биеннале проходят 23 параллельных мероприятия и специальных проекта. Например, экспозиция World of Fragile Parts, организованная в сотрудничестве с лондонским Музеем Виктории и Альберта (V&A), посвящена прикладному искусству и сохранности культурных ценностей.

Выставка “A World of Fragile Parts”Выставка “A World of Fragile Parts”, foto © Andrea Avezzù, courtesy of La Biennale di Venezia

Гости города также могут посетить выставку бельгийского художника Жана Фабра (один из кураторов выставки – заведующий Отделом современного искусства Государственного Эрмитажа Дмитрий Озерков), экспозицию «Человек как птица. Образы путешествий», организованную ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина и предлагающую размышления на тему «технологии и культура».

Леонид Тишков, Частная луна, 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии видеоЛеонид Тишков, Частная луна, 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии видео, © Courtesy of the artist

В палаццо Франкетти представлен прекрасный выставочный проект Glasstress 2017, посвящённый стеклу, которым славится Венеция.

Проект Glasstress 2017, посвящённый стеклуПроект Glasstress 2017, посвящённый стеклу, foto © Giulia Ilina

Заслуживает внимания персональная выставка российского художника Валерия Кошлякова «Мы строим утопию» в Университете Ка’Фоскари при поддержке Музея русского импрессионизма. 14 лет назад художник представлял Россию на Биеннале в Венеции, его прозрачные, лёгкие, иллюзорные работы можно увидеть в самом романтичном городе Италии до 29 июля 2017 г.

Российский художник Валерий КошляковРоссийский художник Валерий Кошляков, foto © Giulia Ilina

Венецианская Биеннале в 2017 г. – гимн «нового гуманизма», где главный герой не подавляет окружающий его мир, а посредством искусства воспевает торжество способностей человека. И в этом году столица «нового гуманизма» – Венеция.

Ильина Юлия, Венеция

Статьи