. info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Grand Hotel of the Ligurian Coast

Grand Hotel of the Ligurian Coast

There are beautiful and very beautiful hotels. But there is a separate category - beautiful hotels with a history. This is the Imperiale Palace Hotel, located on the Ligurian coast of Italy near Rapallo.

Ligurian coast has attracted tourists thanks to the mild climate and picturesque landscape. The railway laid in the XIX century made accessible the picturesque towns, so wealthy holidaymakers came not only from Milan and Genoa, but also from all over Europe. Also the Russian nobility loved Liguria.

Liguria, the Gulf of Tigullio

Liguria, the Gulf of Tigullio, photo © Giulia Cassoni

A well-known story about the Empress Maria Alexandrovna, the wife of Tsar Alexander II, who lived in San Remo and how the Cathedral of Christ the Savior was erected with the initiative of Russian tourists. A little to the east of San Remo is the Gulf of Tigullio, where the world famous towns like Rapallo, Santa Margarita and Portofino are located.

The beauty of these places inspired and inspires creativity. For example, in Rapallo Friedrich Nietzsche worked on the heads of "So Spoke Zarathustra," composers Franz Liszt and Ian Sibelius composed, and Wassily Kandinsky painted.

On the border of Rapallo and Santa Margherita, Imperiale Palace Hotel rises, rightly considered to be the "pearl of the coast". Buildings in the style of artnuvo, beautiful panorama, Mediterranean garden with roses, oleanders and hydrangeas, the smell of tuja, rosemary and boxwood, gusts of light sea wind - everything sets for a relaxed summer holiday, away from the bustle and everyday stress.

Imperiale Palace Hotel

Imperiale Palace Hotel, photo © Giulia Cassoni

The hotel, built in 1889, was originally the summer residence of a noble family from Corsica, then from 1910, after reconstruction, became the favorite resting place for the crowned persons and aristocracy of Europe.

Elena Savoiskaya, "Slavic beauty" from Montenegro, the wife of the Italian King Victor Emmanuel III, spent a lot of time in Liguria in the imperial chambers of the hotel and often invited famous writers and actors. Among her guests was the writer Luigi Pirandello and the legendary actress Eleanor Duz.

Queen of Italy Elena Savoiskaya loved the Imperiale Palace Hotel very much

Queen of Italy Elena Savoiskaya loved the Imperiale Palace Hotel very much, photo WEB

Among the ancient rooms of the hotel, which retained the charm and luxury of the past, there is a small hall. Around the sunlit desk, there are white chairs. Here, on April 16, 1922, the Rapall Treaty was signed between Soviet Russia and the Weimar Republic (Germany), putting the diplomatic end to the First World War and the international diplomatic isolation of Russia. The future of modern Europe was largely solved in this bright room with the sea view.

On the left, the Rapallo Treaty Hall at the Imperial Palace Hotel; on the right, meeting of the Russian and German delegations

On the left, the Rapallo Treaty Hall at the Imperial Palace Hotel; on the right, meeting of the Russian and German delegations, photo WEB

In the early 20-ies of XX century Europe left hope for the collapse of the Soviet regime. The governments of France, Britain, and America understood that the restoration and development of Russia would bring significant economic benefits. Germany also benefited from this agreement to settle payments and debts for the First World War.

Russia needed equipment and technology to restore the destroyed economy of the country. In addition, the Soviet government, headed by Georgy Chicherin, the National Commissar for Foreign Affairs of the RSFSR, sought to establish relations between Soviet Russia and the rest of the world. Such were the prerequisites for an international conference in Genoa in 1922.

The Russian delegation in Genoa, 1922, photo from the archive of Imperiale Palace Hotel

The Russian delegation in Genoa, 1922, photo from the archive of Imperiale Palace Hotel

In Genoa, the Allies raised questions about Russia's payment of state and private pre-war and military debts (their Russia had never recognized), as well as the problems of the Soviet companies nationalization by foreign companies. For its part, Russia reminded Germany that it also intends to demand military debts. It is assumed that the argument of mutual settlements was agreed in advance on the sidelines between the Russian and German delegations.

Indeed, in the castle of San Giorgio, towering over Portofino, there is a photo of Christian Rakovsky Chairman of UkraineSNK, a Bulgarian with a Romanian passport. He was the guest of honor of the castle owner, the German diplomat Alphonse Mumm von Schwarzenstein, a native of the richest family, the owner of the famous champagne Mumm. It is interesting to note that Alfons Mumm was the representative of the German government in Kiev in 1918, and Christian Rakovsky was called by some sources "the father of the Rapallo Treaty".

Imperiale Palace Hotel

Imperiale Palace Hotel, photo WEB

Time will pass and the Second World War will begin. One of the best diplomats in Russia, Christian Rakovsky,on Stalin's orders, will be shot in the fall of 1941. Manuscripts of G. Chicherin will be burned at the bombing, among them an unpublished book on Mozart. The Russian diplomat has been fond of music since childhood, he was removed from diplomatic work in 1930. The family of German diplomats Mumm will save Portofino from the destruction by the Germans, and in their honor grateful residents will erect a memorial plaque, and a museun will be opened in the castle.

A ray of sun falls from the open window into the "room of the Rapala Treaty". The sounds of music are heard. We are invited to an aperitif - to drink champagne Mumm.

Guilia Cassoni, Rapallo

Articles

+41 (0)91 911 95 50 info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

Гранд отель лигурийского побережья

Гранд отель лигурийского побережья

Бывают красивые отели, бывают очень красивые. А есть отдельная категория – красивые отели с историей. Это – Палас Отель Империал, расположенный на Лигурийском побережье Италии недалеко от Рапалло.

Лигурийское побережье издавна привлекало туристов благодаря мягкому климату и живописному пейзажу, а проложенная в XIX в. железная дорога сделала доступными живописные городки, поэтому состоятельные курортники приезжали не только из Милана и Генуи, но и со всей Европы. Любила Лигурию и российская знать.

Лигурия, залив Тигуллио

Лигурия, залив Тигуллио, фото © Giulia Cassoni

Хорошо известна история, как императрица Мария Александровна, супруга царя Александра II, жила в Сан-Ремо и как в этом городе по инициативе российских отдыхающих был воздвигнут Храм Христа Спасителя.  Чуть восточнее Сан-Ремо расположен залив Тигуллио, где находятся всемирно известные живописные городки Рапалло, Санта Маргарита и Портофино.  

Красота этих мест вдохновляла и вдохновляет на творчество. Например, в Рапалло Фридрих Ницше работал над главами "Так говорил Заратустра", композиторы Франц Лист и Ян Сибелиус сочиняли музыку, а Василий Кандинский писал картины.

На границе Рапалло и Санта Маргариты возвышается Палас Отель Империал, по праву считающийся «жемчужиной побережья». Здания в стиле артнуво, прекрасная панорама, средиземноморский сад с розами, олеандрами и гортензиями, запах туи, розмарина и самшита, порывы лёгкого морского ветра – все настраивает на расслабленный летний отдых, вдали от суеты и повседневного стресса.

Палас Отель Империал

Палас Отель Империал, фото © Giulia Cassoni

Гостиница, построенная в 1889 г., вначале была летней резиденцией дворянской семьи с Корсики, затем с 1910 г., после реконструкции, стала любимым местом отдыха коронованных особ и аристократии Европы.

Елена Савойская, «славянская красавица» из Черногории, жена итальянского короля Виктора Эммануила III много времени проводила в Лигурии в императорских покоях отеля и часто приглашала знаменитых литераторов и актёров. Среди её гостей был писатель Луиджи Пиранделло и легендарная актриса театра Элеонора Дюз.

Королева Италии Елена Савойская очень любила Палас Отель Империал

Королева Италии Елена Савойская очень любила Палас Отель Империал, фото WEB

Среди старинных комнат гостиницы, сохранивших шарм и роскошь былых времён, находится небольшой зал. Вокруг письменного стола, залитого солнцем, стоят белые кресла. Именно здесь 16 апреля 1922 г. был подписан Рапалльский договор между советской Россией и Веймарской республикой (Германией), положивший дипломатический конец первой мировой войне и международной дипломатической изоляции России. Будущее современной Европы в многом решалось в этой светлой комнате с видом на море.

Слева, зал Рапалльского договора в гостинице Империал; справа, встреча российской и немецкой делегации

Слева, зал Рапалльского договора в гостинице Империал; справа, встреча российской и немецкой делегации, фото WEB

В начале 20-х гг. ХХ в. Европа оставила надежду о крушении советского режима. Правительства Франции, Англии, Америки понимали, что восстановление и развитие России принесёт значительную экономическую выгоду. Германии также было выгодно это соглашение, чтобы урегулировать платежи и долги по первой мировой войне.

Россия же нуждалась в оборудовании и технике, чтобы восстановить разрушенную экономику страны. Кроме того, советское правительство во главе с Георгием Чичериным, Народным комиссаром по иностранным делам РСФСР, добивалось налаживания отношений между советской Россией и остальным миром. Таковы были предпосылки международной конференции в Генуе в 1922 г.

Российская делегация в Генуе, 1922

Российская делегация в Генуе, 1922, фото из архива Палас Отель Империал

В Генуе союзники подняли вопросы об оплате Россией государственных и частных довоенных и военных долгов (их Россия никогда не признала), а также проблемы национализации советской властью иностранных компаний. Со своей стороны, Россия напомнила Германии, что также намерена требовать военные долги. Предполагается, что аргумент взаиморасчётов был заранее обговорен в кулуарах между российской и германской делегациями.

Действительно, в замке Сан Джорджио, возвышающегося над Портофино, находится фотография Христиана Раковского, болгарина с румынским паспортом, в то время Председателя СНК Украины. Он был почётным гостем хозяина замка, немецкого дипломата Альфонс Мумм фон Шварценштайн, выходца из богатейшей семьи, владельца знаменитого шампанского Мумм. Интересно отметить, что Альфонс Мумм в 1918 г. был представителем немецкого правительства в Киеве, а Христиана Раковского некоторые источники называют «отцом Рапалльского договора».

Палас Отель Империал

Палас Отель Империал, фото WEB

Пройдёт время и начнётся вторая мировая война. Один из лучших дипломатов России, Христиан Раковский, по приказу Сталина будет расстрелян осенью 1941 г. Сгорят при бомбёжках рукописи Г. Чичерина, отстранённого в 1930 г. от дипломатической работы, среди которых неопубликованная книга о Моцарте. Российский дипломат с детства увлекался музыкой. Семья немецких дипломатов Мумм спасут Портофино от разрушения немцами, в их честь благодарные жители установят мемориальную доску, а в замке будет открыт музей.

Из открытого окна в «комнату Рапальского договора» падает луч солнца.  Доносятся звуки музыки.  Нас приглашают на аперитив – выпить шампанское Мумм.

Джулия Кассони, Рапалло

Статьи