info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

The Forum Confcommercio 2019 was held in Cernobbio

Italy is growing, but slowly

The Forum Confcommercio 2019 was held on March 22-23 in Cernobbio, as usual, at Villa D’Este. It takes place every year, at the end of March, and is successful if the weather is fine. Each year, the Association of Italian Businessmen (Confcommercio) prepares an economic report on Italy and Europe. This time it was dedicated to the European currency, and it was called: “The Euro is 20 years old”.

The report was presented by President Confcommercio Carlo Sangalli and director of analytical center Mariano Bella. And although the report was supposed to be in support of the euro, but it turned out that for Italy, at least, if you look at the data, everything is not so simple.

Forum Confcommercio 2019

Forum Confcommercio 2019, photo © Evgeny Utkin

For example, if in 1989-1998 Italian GDP grew by an average of 1.6% per year, while in other countries it was only slightly higher, then with the introduction of the euro, for the years 1999–2018, Italy’s average GDP growth was 0.1%, euro area countries 1.1 %, EU 1.4%, with the EU countries, but not the euro, growing at an average of 2.6% per year.

That is, if you take the GDP per person in the country in 1999 for one hundred, then the report showed that in 2018 real GDP per person in Italy was only 101.2, in France 116.4, in Spain 122.8, in Germany 128.3, eurozone countries 120.8, but the EU countries without the euro 163.2. So it turned out that the euro countries grew less, and Italy practically did not grow at all.

Market participants and scenarios for the 2000s

Market participants and scenarios for the 2000s, source © Confcommercio

This affected unemployment. In 2018, employed Italians (among the ages of 20-64) accounted for only 63% (only in Greece is worse, from 60%, but the EU average is 73%, in Germany 80%).

The foreign debt of all European countries grew strongly from 1999 to 2017. On average, in the EU from 64% to 83% of GDP, but, for example, in Italy from 109.7 to 131.2% of GDP, in France from 60.5% to 98.5%. And only Germany has almost retained the level of debt: it grew only from 60% to 63.9% of GDP. It turned out that Germany gained the most advantage from the euro, at least from statistics.

And finally, Confcommercio gave its forecast for Italy for 2019 and 2020. In 2018, GDP grew by 0.9%. According to the October forecast of last year, in 2019 they expected a 1% growth. But now Confcommercio changed their forecast, greatly reducing the growth of Italy this year, only 0.3%. In 2020, too, a very small GDP growth is foreseen, at 0.5%. It turns out that Italy is not in recession, but it is rather difficult to call growth, especially over the past 20 years. It can be said that Italy all these years (on average) is in stagnation.

Market participants and scenarios for the 2000s

Market participants and scenarios for the 2000s, source © Confcommercio

The great problem of Italy is the large foreign debt, and the high cost of its service. And accordingly, high taxes on business and individuals. It is said that they will probably have to raise the VAT again, which will cost each Italian family almost a thousand euros of additional expenses. And the Association Confcommercio would not want this to happen.

At Forum performed economists, trade union leaders and politicians. Vice Premier Matteo Salvini, who spoke at the Forum, also confirmed that he did not want to raise the VAT.

Evgeny Utkin with Carlo Sangalli (left) and Matteo Salvini (right)

Evgeny Utkin with Carlo Sangalli (left) and Matteo Salvini (right), photo © Evgeny Utkin

On the sidelines of the forum, on a green lawn, was discussed a visit to Italy by the Chinese leader with a large delegation of several hundred people, and whether this is good or bad. Mostly were said that it was not bad, it could give new opportunities for Italy, although one should be very careful with the Chinese. Although quite a few people, including Lara Comi, the vice president of the PPE party, the most numerous in the European Parliament, think that Europe as a whole should talk with China, and Italy is too weak a negotiator. But there were no Chinese at the Forum, so there was almost no talk about them. They grieved about Brexit, about the exit of Great Britain from the EU, and that this would lead to negative consequences both in Europe and in Italy.

Donatella Prampolini Manzini, Carlo Sangalli, Luigi Taranto

(from left to right) Donatella Prampolini Manzini, Carlo Sangalli and Luigi Taranto, photo © Evgeny Utkin

But, the weather was beautiful, the sun shined, temperature was up to +20 degrees. With envy, it was possible to observe the clients of the hotel-villa, where they took sunbathing near the outdoor pool right in the lake. Although the economic future of Italy is not particularly pleased, but the sun disposed to a good mood. Therefore, everyone was cheerful, and the Forum, one might say, was a success. Moreover, it was 20 years anniversary. On this occasion, there was festive cake. Which turned out to be very tasty. Not as record as a few days ago, but much tastier.

Evgeny Utkin, Cernobbio, Italy

Articles

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

В Черноббио прошел Форум Конфкоммерчио 2019

Италия растет, но медленно

Форум Confcommercio 2019 прошел 22-23 марта в Черноббио, как обычно, на Вилле Д’Эсте. Он проходит каждый год, в конце марта, и бывает удачным, если стоит прекрасная погода. Каждый год Ассоциация Итальянских Коммерсантов (Confcommercio) готовит экономический доклад об Италии и Европе. На этот раз он был посвящен европейской валюте, он так и назывался: «Евро исполнилось 20 лет».

Доклад представил Президент Конфкоммерчио Карло Сангалли и директор его аналитического центра Мариано Белла. И хотя доклад должен был быть в поддержку евро, но, оказалось, для Италии, по-крайней мере, если смотреть на данные, все не так однозначно.

Форум Confcommercio 2019

Форум Confcommercio 2019, фото © Evgeny Utkin

Например, если в 1989-1998 гг. итальянский ВВП рос в среднем на 1,6 % в год, в то время как в других странах только чуть выше, то с введением евро, за 1999-2018 годы средний рост ВВП Италии составил 0,1 %, стран зоны евро 1,1 %, ЕС 1,4 %, причем страны ЕС, но не евро, росли в среднем по 2,6 % в год.

То есть, если взять ВВП на человека в стране в 1999 году за сто, то из доклада следовало, что в 2018 реальный ВВП на человека в Италии составил только 101,2, во Франции 116,4, в Испании 122,8, в Германии 128,3, страны еврозоны 120,8, а вот страны ЕС, но без евро 163,2. Т.е. оказалось, что страны евро росли меньше, а Италия практически совсем не росла.

Участники рынка и сценарии на 2000-е годы

Участники рынка и сценарии на 2000-е годы, источник © Confcommercio

Это сказалось и на безработице. В 2018 году занятые итальянцы (среди возраста 20-64) составляли всего 63 % (хуже только Греция, с 60%, а вот средняя цифра по ЕС 73 %, в Германии 80 %).

Внешний долг всех европейских стран сильно вырос с 1999 по 2017 годы. В среднем по ЕС с 64% по 83 % ВВП, но, например, в Италии с 109,7 по 131,2 % ВВП, во Франции с 60,5 % до 98,5 %. И только Германия практически сохранила уровень долга: он вырос всего с 60 % до 63,9 % ВВП. Получилось, что больше всего преимуществ от евро, по крайней мере из статистики, получила Германия.

Ну и, наконец, Конфкоммерчио дала свой прогноз для Италии на 2019 и на 2020 годы. В 2018 ВВП вырос на 0,9 %. По прогнозу октября прошлого года, в 2019 году рассчитывали на 1 % роста. Но сейчас Конфкоммерчио изменили свой прогноз, сильно убавив рост Италии в этом году, всего в 0,3 %. В 2020 тоже предвидится совсем небольшой рост ВВП, в 0,5 %. Получается, что Италия не находится в рецессии, но и ростом это назвать достаточно трудно, особенно за последние 20 лет. Можно сказать, что Италия все эти годы (в среднем) находится в стагнации.

Участники рынка и сценарии на 2000-е годы

Участники рынка и сценарии на 2000-е годы, источник © Confcommercio

Огромная проблема Италии - большой внешний долг, и высокая стоимость его обслуживания. И соответственно, высокие налоги на бизнес и на физические лица. Говорят, что, вероятно, придется снова повышать НДС, что обойдется каждой итальянской семье в почти тысячу евро дополнительных расходов. И Ассоциация Конфкоммерчио не хотела бы, чтобы это случилось.

Выступали экономисты, и профсоюзные лидеры, и политики. Приехал и вицепремьер Маттео Сальвини, который выступая на Форуме, подтвердил, что не хочет повышать НДС.

Евгений Уткин с Карло Сангалли (слева) и Маттео Сальвини (справа)

Евгений Уткин с Карло Сангалли (слева) и Маттео Сальвини (справа), фото © Evgeny Utkin

В кулуарах форума, на зеленой лужайке обсуждали визит китайского лидера с многочисленной делегацией в несколько сотен человек в Италию, и хорошо ли это, или плохо. В основном говорили, что неплохо, это может дать новые возможности для Италии, хотя с китайцами нужно быть очень осторожными. Хотя немало людей, в том числе и Лара Коми, вице-президент самой многочисленной в Европарламенте партии РРЕ, считает, что с Китаем должна разговаривать Европа в целом, а Италия слишком слабый переговорщик.  Но китайцев на Форуме не было, так что разговора о них почти не было. Погоревали о Брексите, о выходе Великобритании из ЕС, и что это приведет к негативным последствиям и в Европе, и в Италии.

(слева направо) Донателла Прамполини Манзини, Карло Сангалли и Луиджи Таранто

(слева направо) Донателла Прамполини Манзини, Карло Сангалли и Луиджи Таранто, фото © Evgeny Utkin

Но, погода была прекрасная, солнце, температура до +20 градусов, а на солнце и больше. С завистью можно было наблюдать клиентов отеля-виллы, что возле открытого бассейна прямо в озере принимали солнечные ванны. Хоть экономическое будущее Италии не особо радовало, но солнце располагало к хорошему настроению. Поэтому, все были веселы, и Форум, можно сказать, удался. Тем более, он был юбилейный, двадцатый. По этому случаю не обошлось без поедания праздничного торта. Который оказался очень вкусным. Не таким рекордным, как несколько дней назад, но гораздо вкуснее.

Евгений Уткин, Черноббио, Италия

Статьи