info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Interview with CEO and Director-general of the Italian Railway

Renato Mazzoncini: No geopolitics, only business

December 1, 2016 in St. Petersburg, the UIC chairman was elected for 2017-2018 at session of the General Assembly of the International Union of Railways (UIC, Union Internationale des Chemins de fer). It was under the chairmanship of the JSC Russian Railways president Oleg Belozerov.

The general director of the group "State Railways of Italy" (Ferrovie dello Stato) Renato Mazzoncini became the UIC chairman. Mazzoncini was born in 1968 in Brescia, all his life is connected with the railways, from December 1, 2015 he became the head of the Italian Railways. We met with him on the sidelines of the Forum The European House - Ambrosetti Villa D'Este in Cernobbio, on the shores of Lake Como, to talk about the possibilities of the Italian railway workers in Russia.

Renato Mazzoncini (left) and Evgeny Utkin (right)

Renato Mazzoncini (left) and Evgeny Utkin (right), photo © Evgeny Utkin

- What are your relations with RŽD and their leader?

- We are friends with the President of the Russian Railways Oleg Belozerov, and together we work at the International Union of Railways, where he was chairman (from December 1, 2015), until last year, and this year I replaced him. We are the main core there.

- By "we" You mean only the Italian State Railways?

- No, RŽD, Italian State Railways, and several other companies that are the largest in the world.

- Tell us about your projects and opportunities in work with Russia?

- We have two levels of interaction. First, these are projects that can be implemented directly in Russia. For example, the Moscow-Kazan high-speed line project, where we created a pool of companies to participate in tenders for this project. And here is the main problem, it is not technology, because European technologies are reliable and have shown themselves in their countries. It is not a problem whose technologies RZD will choose - German, French, Italian or Spanish, it is about project finance.

The Moscow-Kazan high-speed line project

The Moscow-Kazan high-speed line project, source Russian Railways

Now we are talking about an agreement with either the Chinese or Europeans. If with the Europeans, then we are in a good position, if with the Chinese ... (pause), they are Chinese (sighs). I can say that now we are opening our cards. We play open, follow the road map, which we identified with our colleagues from RŽD in mid-July.

- So you do not have any problems related to geopolitics, sanctions, etc.?

- No, absolutely not. In the railway industry there are no sanctions. Then, we signed Memorandum of Understanding, which concerns not only our countries, but, for example, cooperation in Serbia. And see what can be done together in Eastern Europe. We have very advanced technologies, on high-speed railways, as they have been with us for a long time. RŽD and Russia have influence, including geopolitical, on these countries. And combining these things together could create an interesting business.

- Can you think about the "Silk Road?"

The Silk Road? Here the main thing is to understand if the "Silk Road" starts, and if it starts, on what route it goes, the North or the South. I think that the "Moscow-Kazan" project should go forward in terms of the "Silk Road", and if it develops faster than the Southern Corridor, then for Russia it will be a great opportunity.

 

Map of potential routes of the Silk Road

Map of potential routes of the Silk Road, photo WEB

- However, "Moscow-Kazan" is needed, first of all, Russia itself ...

- Yes, of course, no doubt. But for Russia now this is the main. After all, if countries in the South, such as Turkey, Iran, etc., start moving faster, it is clear that then it is possible to create a more profitable corridor in the South. I am sure that there is no place for the two corridors of the Silk Road, as these are huge investments. It is also because sea-going ships make up a worthy competition for rail transport. I think that there will be only one railway corridor, and it is not yet clear whether South or North.

- Now your competitor is the climate, more precisely, climate change. If this goes on, then in a few years, the Northern Sea Route will be practically navigable, and this will also increase competition in the delivery of Europe-Asia cargo and back.

- Oh, yes, and that, too. However, I hope that we have several years or decades.

- Returning to the Ambrosetti forum, yesterday you participated in a bilateral Russian-Italian meeting led by Russian Vice-Premier Arkady Dvorkovich and Italian Foreign Minister Angelino Alfano. What are the results of this meeting?

- We can say that this meeting confirmed the friendship between our countries, which is the main element to develop a joint business. Among our Italian companies, probably Enel is ahead of everyone, and has already concluded specific contracts in RES (renewable energy sources). I can say that the "system-country", when working, works for all companies. The fact that other companies, like Enel, are leading a successful business in Russia, helps us too. Then, I hope that we will be able to achieve positive results with RŽD, because yesterday Dvorkovich said that the participation of the Italian Railways in the project "Moscow-Kazan" is among his goals. This meeting was also attended by Vyacheslav Pavlovsky, Vice-President of RŽD, who is responsible for the development of the project.

Eugene Utkin, Italy, Cernobbio

Articles

. info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

Ренато Маццончини: Никакой геополитики, только бизнес

Ренато Маццончини: Никакой геополитики, только бизнес

1 декабря 2016 года в Санкт-Петербурге под председательством президента ОАО «РЖД» Олега Белозёрова состоялась сессия Генеральной ассамблеи Международного союза железных дорог (UIC, Union Internationale des Chemins de fer), на котором был избран председатель МСЖД на 2017-2018 годы.

Им стал генеральный директор группы «Государственные железные дороги Италии» (Ferrovie dello StatoРенато Маццончини (Renato Mazzoncini).  Маццончини родился в 1968 году в г. Бреша, всю жизнь связан с железными дорогами, с 1 декабря 2015 стал главой Итальянских Железных дорог.  Мы встретились с ним на полях Форума The European House – Ambrosettiна вилле Д’Эсте в Черноббио, на берегу озера Комо, чтобы поговорить о возможностях работы итальянских железнодорожников в России.

Ренато Маццончини (слева) и Евгений Уткин (справа)

Ренато Маццончини (слева) и Евгений Уткин (справа), фото © Evgeny Utkin

- Какие у вас отношения с РЖД и их руководителем?

- Мы друзья с Президентом "РЖД" Олегом Белозёровым, и вместе работаем в Международном союзе железных дорог, где он был председателем (с 1.12.2015 прим.ред.), до прошлого года, и в этом году я его сменил. Мы там главное ядро.

- Вы, в смысле, "Государственные железные дороги Италии"?

- Нет, РЖД, мы, и еще несколько компаний, которые являются крупнейшими в мире.

- Расскажите о ваших проектах и возможностях работы с Россией?

- У нас два уровня взаимодействия. Первый, это проекты, которые можно реализовать непосредственно в России. Например, проект высокоскоростной линии Москва-Казань, где мы создали пул компаний, чтобы участвовать в тендерах по этому проекту.  И здесь главное проблема, это не технологии, т.к. европейские технологии надежны и показали себя в своих странах, т.е. не проблема, чьи технологии выберет РЖД, немецкие, французские, итальянские или испанские, а проблема финансирования, project finance.

Проект высокоскоростной линии Москва-Казань

Проект высокоскоростной линии Москва-Казань, источник РЖД

Сейчас идет речь о соглашении или с китайцами, или с европейцами. Если с европейцами, то мы находимся в хорошей позиции, если с китайцами... (пауза), они китайцы (вздыхает). Могу сказать, что сейчас мы открываем наши карты.  Играем в открытую, следуем road map, которую мы определили с нашими коллегами из РЖД в середине июля.

- То есть у вас нет никаких проблем, связанных с геополитикой, санкциями и т.д.?

- Нет, абсолютно нет. В железнодорожной отрасли нет санкций. Потом, мы подписали Memorandum of Understanding (меморандум о сотрудничестве), который касается не только наших стран, но, например, сотрудничества в Сербии.  И посмотреть, что можно сделать вместе в странах Восточной Европы. У нас есть очень продвинутые технологии, по высокоскоростным железным дорогам, так как они у нас уже давно, а РЖД и Россия, имеют влияние, в том числе геополитическое, на эти страны.  И объединение этих вещей вместе могло бы создать интересный бизнес.

- Можно подумать и о «Шелковом пути?»

- «Шелковый путь»? Здесь главное, понять, если «Шелковый путь» начнется, и, если начнется, по какому маршруту пойдет, Северному или Южному. Я думаю, что проект «Москва-Казань» должен идти вперед именно в расчете на «Шелковый путь», и если он будет развиваться быстрее, чем Южный коридор, то для России это будет отличная возможность.

Карта потенциальных маршрутов «Шелкового пути»

Карта потенциальных маршрутов «Шелкового пути», фото WEB

- Впрочем, «Москва-Казань» нужна, прежде всего, самой России...

- Да, конечно, без сомнения. Но для России сейчас это главное. Ведь если страны на Юге, такие как Турция, Иран и др. начнут двигаться быстрее, ясно, что тогда можно создать более выгодный коридор на Юге. Я уверен, что нет места для двух коридоров «Шелкового пути», так как это огромные инвестиции. Еще и потому, что морские суда составляют достойную конкуренцию железнодорожному транспорту. Я думаю, что будет только один железнодорожный коридор, и пока не ясно, Южный или Северный.

- Сейчас вашим конкурентом является и климат, точнее, изменение климата. Если так пойдет, то через несколько лет, Северный Морской Путь будет практически судоходным, и это тоже повысит конкуренцию в доставке грузов Европа-Азия и назад.

- О да, и это тоже. Впрочем, надеюсь, что у нас есть несколько лет или десятилетий.

- Возвращаясь к форуму Амброзетти, вчера вы участвовали в двусторонней российско-итальянской встрече, которую возглавляли российский Вице-премьер Аркадий Дворкович и Министр иностранных дел Италии Анджелино Альфано.  Каковы результаты этой встречи?

- Можно сказать, что эта встреча подтвердила дружбу между нашими странами, что является главным элементом, чтобы развивать совместный бизнес.  Среди наших итальянских компаний, вероятно, Enel впереди всех, и заключил уже конкретные контракты, в ВИЭ (возобновляемых источниках энергии). Могу сказать, что «система-страна», когда работает, работает на все компании. Т.е. то, что другие компаний, как Энель, ведут успешный бизнес в России, помогает и нам.  Потом, я надеюсь, что и мы сможем добиться положительных результатов с РЖД, так как вчера Дворкович сказал, что участие Итальянских железных дорог в проекте «Москва-Казань» находится среди его целей.  На этой встрече был и Вячеслав Павловский, вице-президент РЖД, который отвечает за развитие проекта. 

Евгений Уткин, Италия, Черноббио

Статьи