info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Stone flower on Monte Generoso mountain

Stone Flower on the Monte Generoso mountain

On March 29th, 2017 at the top of Monte Generoso the world-famous architect Mario Botta held a grand opening of the panoramic Stone Flower restaurant.

From the top of Monte Generoso a breathtaking panorama lies open in front of a traveler’s eyes: the Canton of Ticino and Northern Italy ―  from the Apennines to the Alps, towns, lakes, and snow-capped peaks. This delightful view is rightfully regarded as one of the most picturesque sights of not onlythe Canton of Ticino, but also the whole Switzerland. You can reach the top on foot, but it's a long and difficult journey, because the mountain is 1704 m high, and the slopes are by no means gentle. The second option is a special narrow-gauge train that departs from the village of Capolago located near Mendrisio.

From the top of Monte Generoso, a breathtaking panorama opens up, foto © Giulia CassoniBreathtaking panorama opens up from the top of Monte Generoso, foto © Giulia Cassoni

The history of this railway is amazing. Until the end of the 18th century people avoided climbing the Alps; superstitious local people believed that evil spirits lived there. However, at the beginning of the 19th century, British intellectuals, romantics and travelers boldly paved the way for the conquest of the alpine peaks, entailing an actual "tourism boom" in the mountainous regions of Switzerland. It led to the construction of numerous Alpine hotels, including the hotel Bellavista. It was opened in 1867 on the top of Monte Generoso, although it was only possible to reach the hotel on foot or riding a donkey, and not everyone liked it.

On January 19th, 1889 the construction of the railway  was initiated, and it took a mere 16 months to complete it! The road was built virtually by hand ― with pickaxes and dynamite. The outbreak of the Second World War caused the Swiss tourist business to dwindle, so the road was closed. The owner even decided to dismantle and sell the iron rails, but Gottlieb Duttweiler, the founder of the Migros Swiss retail network, did not let it happen. Without a second thought he bought the railway in 1941, and since then the road has been the property of the company he had founded.

You can get to the top by a special narrow-gauge train, which departs from the village of CapolagoYou can get to the top by a special narrow-gauge train, which departs from the village of Capolago, foto © Giulia Cassoni

And in the 21st century a new extraordinary project stands completed ― Stone Flower Restaurant. Stone flower is erected upon an octagonal base of reinforced concrete, the central room is framed by "petals", which are platedwith gray granite on the outside. Separate tower-petals are bridged with glass galleries, which offer a 360-degree panoramic view: in the South you can see Milan, in the North ― Lake Lugano and the Alps. "We are convinced that the Swiss and tourists from around the world will appreciate this new Ticino emblem," said Fabrice Zumbrunnen, the head of the staff, culture and tourism department at the Migros cooperative society.

Mario Bott, the architect, believes that the building carries the symbolic meaning a man standing on the mountainous border between Europe and the Mediterranean, between heaven and earth. "This is a magical mountain because it separates the South: the valley of the river Po, Milan and the almost perceptible breath of the sea from the other, Northern side, which feels as a part of Europe," Mario Botta said during the opening ceremony. "We are on a ridge that divides the two cultures ..."

March 29, 2017 at the top of Monte Generoso, architect Mario Botta tells reporters about his concept of the "Stone Flower", foto © Giulia CassoniMarch 29, 2017 at the top of Monte Generoso, architect Mario Botta tells reporters about his concept of the "Stone Flower", foto © Giulia Cassoni

Stone Flower, erected by the Swiss architect, houses a gourmet restaurant. Its chef is Luca Bassan from Italy who has been awarded with the Michelin Star. His light and delicious dishes are always elegantly served. He prefers to use seasonal and local ingredients like the famous cheese from the valley of Magia. And the Italian-Swiss sommelier Paolo Basso, the winner of the Best Sommelier of the World 2013 and the Best Sommelier of Europe 2010 titles, offers an excellent selection of famous Swiss wines, including Merlot from the Canton of Ticino.

Chef of the gourmet restaurant in the "Stone Flower" - Italian Luca Bassan     The chef of the gourmet restaurant in the "Stone Flower" - Italian Luca Bassan, the owner of the Michelin star, foto WEB

But let us not discuss the restaurant any further, it's better to come and try everything in person. Besides, there is so much to explore beyond the restaurant! And there are not only stone flowers on the mountain. This area is one of the most interesting places in Ticino for botanical observations, because during the latest Ice Age the mountain top was an isle rising above the vast frozen ocean.

That is why so many species of plants and animals have found shelter here. The mountain helped them to survive the difficult conditions and maybe that’s why it bears the name of "Generoza", which means "generous." Limestone layers of the mountain contributed to the development of more than 800 species of plants, some of them are very rare. By the way, it is prohibited to pluck flowers on the mountain, and rightfully so – the nature must be protected!

Guilia Cassoni, Monte Generoso, Ticino, Switzerland

Articles

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

«Каменный цветок» на горе Монте Дженерозо

«Каменный цветок» на горе Монте Дженерозо

 29 марта 2017 года на вершине горы Монте Дженерозо (Monte Generoso) состоялось торжественное открытие панорамного ресторана «Каменный цветок», построенного по проекту всемирно известного архитектора Марио Ботта (Mario Botta).

С вершины горы Монте Дженерозо открывается захватывающая дух панорама. Перед глазами путешественника предстаёт кантон Тичино и Северная Италия – от Апеннин до Альп, города, озёра, заснеженные вершины. Этот восхитительный вид по праву считается одним из самых живописных не только в кантоне Тичино, но и во всей Швейцарии. Добраться на вершину можно пешком, но это долгий и трудный путь, ведь высота горы 1704 м, а склоны её отнюдь не пологие. Второй вариант – специальный узкоколейный поезд, который отправляется из посёлка Каполаго, расположенного недалеко от Мендризио. 

С вершины горы Монте Дженерозо открывается захватывающая дух панорама, foto © Giulia CassoniС вершины горы Монте Дженерозо открывается захватывающая дух панорама, foto © Giulia Cassoni

История этой железной дороги удивительна. До конца XVIII в. люди избегали подъёма на вершины Альп — суеверное местное население считало, что там живут злые духи. Однако в начале XIX в. английские интеллектуалы, романтики и путешественники смело проложили путь к завоеванию альпийских вершин, вызвав настоящий бум туризма в горных регионах Швейцарии. Это привело к строительству многочисленных альпийских отелей, в том числе и отеля Беллависта (Bellavista). Его открыли в 1867 г. на вершине Монте Дженерозо, но в то время попасть в гостиницу можно было только пешком или верхом на осликах, что не всем нравилось.

19 января 1889 года началось строительство железной дороги, которое было завершено всего через 16 месяцев! Дорогу прокладывали  практически вручную – кирка и динамит. С началом Второй мировой войны швейцарский туристический бизнес пришёл в упадок и дорогу закрыли. Владелец даже решил демонтировать  и продать железные рельсы, однако, Готлиб Дутвайлер (Gottlieb Duttweiler), основатель швейцарской сети розничной торговли Мигрос (Migros), этого не допустил. В 1941 г он без колебаний выкупил железную дорогу, которая до сих пор содержится основанной им компанией.

Добраться на вершину можно на специальном узкоколейном поезде, который отправляется из посёлка КаполагоДобраться на вершину можно на специальном узкоколейном поезде, который отправляется из посёлка Каполаго, foto © Giulia Cassoni

И вот в XXI веке завершён новый удивительный проект – ресторан «Каменный цветок». Он стоит на восьмиугольном основании из железобетона, а центральное помещение обрамлено «лепестками», которые снаружи покрыты серым гранитом. Отдельные башни-лепестки соединены стеклянными галереями, откуда открывается панорамный вид на все 360 градусов: на юге виднеется Милан, на севере – озеро Лугано и Альпы. «Мы убеждены, что швейцарцы и туристы со всего мира оценят эту новую эмблему Тичино», – подчеркнул во время церемонии открытия Фабрис Цумбрюнно (Fabrice Zumbrunnen), руководитель отдела кадров, культуры и туризма кооператива Мигрос.

Архитектор Марио Ботта считает, что здание «Каменного цветка» имеет символическое значение присутствия человека на условной границе, проложенной горами между Европой и Средиземноморьем, между небом и землёй. «Это волшебная гора, потому что она отделяет юг: долину реки Пo, Милан и почти ощутимое дыхание моря, от другой, северной стороны, ощущающей себя в Европе, – отметил во время открытия Марио Ботта. – Мы находимся на хребте, который разделяет две культуры...».

29 марта 2017 г. на вершине горы Монте Дженерозо архитектор Марио Ботта рассказывает журналистам о своей концепции «Каменного цветка», foto © Giulia Cassoni29 марта 2017 г. на вершине горы Монте Дженерозо архитектор Марио Ботта рассказывает журналистам о своей концепции «Каменного цветка», foto © Giulia Cassoni

В «Каменном цветке» швейцарского архитектора находится ресторан-гурмэ. Повар – итальянец Лука Бассан (Luca Bassan), обладатель звезды Мишлен. Его блюда, лёгкие и вкусные, всегда изящно офрмлены. Он предпочитает использовать сезонные и местные ингредиенты, например, знаменитый сыр из долины Маджиа. А итальяно-швейцарский сомелье Паоло Бассо (Paolo Basso), победитель конкурсов Лучший сомелье мира 2013 года и Лучший сомелье Европы 2010 года, предлагает прекрасный выбор знаменитых швейцарских вин, в том числе Мерло (Merlot) кантона Тичино.

Повар ресторан гурмэ в «Каменном цветке» – итальянец  Лука Бассан (Luca Bassan), обладатель звезды Мишлен          
Повар ресторана гурмэ в «Каменном цветке» – итальянец Лука Бассан (Luca Bassan), обладатель звезды Мишлен, foto WEB

Но не будем слишком много рассказывать о ресторане, лучше приехать и самим всё попробовать. Да и помимо ресторана здесь есть на что посмотреть, а цветы на горе не только цветы из камня. Эта местность одна из самых интересных в Тичино для ботанических наблюдений, так как в течение последней ледниковой эпохи вершина горы была островом, расположенным посреди обширного ледяного моря.

Поэтому именно здесь нашли убежище и приют множества видов растений и животных. Гора помогла им выжить в сложных условиях и, может быть, поэтому она называется «Дженерозо», что в переводе с итальянского означает «щедрый». Известняковые пласты способствовали развитию более 800 видов растений, некоторые из которых очень редкие. Кстати, рвать цветы на горе запрещается и это правильно – природу нужно беречь!

Джулия Кассони, Швейцария, Тичино, Монте Дженерозо

Статьи