info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Wear-resistant graphene shoes

Wear-resistant graphene shoes

The idea of creating wear-resistant shoes arose from the British brand inov-8, which produces clothing for sports. To realize the task, the company's specialists decided to add a chemical substance - graphene - to footwear materials.

Graphene is the world's first two-dimensional material, with a thickness of about 1 carbon atom. At the same time, its strength is 100 times higher than that of steel. Adding graphene to the rubber can increase the wear resistance of shoes by at least 50%, which means that they can extend the life of the products and improve the quality of their wear. For its discovery scientists received the Nobel Prize. This is a very promising material that can expand many areas of industry and technology.

For the discovery of graphene, scientists received the Nobel Prize

For the discovery of graphene, scientists received the Nobel Prize, photo WEB

The effectiveness of graphene-combined materials was tested in laboratory conditions: the experiments showed higher elasticity, strength and abradability of the soles of improved rubber.

On the way to improving the quality of sports shoes, inov-8 entered into cooperation with the University of Manchester, on the basis of which were conducted investigations. Manufacture of sneakers and gym shoes with an improved sole is planned to be launched in 2018. The brand will be the first in history who will make such "revolution" in the sportswear industry.

The brand will be the first in history who will make such a "revolution"

The brand will be the first in history who will make such a "revolution", photo © inov-8.com

The inov-8 brand was founded in 2003, today the company presents clothes and footwear for sports in 68 countries. It's no secret that sneakers, no matter how modern they are, quickly wear out. The company's specialists realized that it's not the production technology and the design of shoes that need to be changed, but the material. The use of graphene - a sure step on the way to improving the quality of the soles.

Dr. Aravind Vijayaragavan states: "Graphene is extraordinarily flexible, it can be bent, twisted, folded and stretched without any damage. When adding it to the rubber used in G-Series inov-8 shoes, graphene transfers all its properties, including strength. Our unique formula makes this shoe 50% stronger, 50% more elastic and 50% more resistant to wear than the corresponding standard rubber without graphene. "

Dr. Aravind Vijayaragavan

Dr. Aravind Vijayaragavan, photo WEB

Graphene reinforced rubber, due to its flexibility, is able to provide more effective grip with any floor surface in the hall or a treadmill on the street. A revolutionary solution will surely be a new stage in the production of sports shoes and clothes, because competition will not keep you waiting, and each manufacturer will want to provide an improved product with a minimum degree of wear.

Anna Kiryakova, Russia 

Articles

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

Износостойкая обувь из графена

Износостойкая обувь из графена

Идея создания износостойкой обуви возникла у британского бренда inov-8, который занимается производством одежды для занятий спортом. Чтобы реализовать поставленную задачу, специалисты компании решили добавить в материалы для обуви химическое вещество – графен.

Графен – это первый в мире двухмерный материал, толщиной около 1 углеродного атома. При этом его прочность в 200 раз выше, чем у стали. Добавление графена в состав резины способно увеличить износостойкость обуви минимум на 50%, а значит, продлить срок службы изделий и улучшить качество их носки. Получают графен из природного графита, за его открытие ученые получили Нобелевскую премию. Это весьма перспективный материал, способный расширить многие области промышленности и технологий.

Графен это первый в мире двухмерный материал

За открытие графена ученые получили Нобелевскую премию, фото WEB

Эффективность комбинированных с графеном материалов испытана в лабораторных условиях: опыты показали более высокие показатели эластичности, прочности и истираемости подошв из улучшенной резины.

На пути к повышению качества спортивной обуви компания inov-8 вступила в сотрудничество с Манчестерским университетом, на базе которого и проводились изыскания и исследования. Производство кроссовок и кед для фитнеса и бега с улучшенной подошвой планируется запустить в 2018 году. Бренд станет первым в истории, кто совершит подобную «революцию» в индустрии спортивной одежды.

Бренд станет первым в истории, кто совершит подобную «революцию»

Бренд станет первым в истории, кто совершит подобную «революцию», фото © inov-8.com

Бренд inov-8 был основан в 2003 году, сегодня компания представляет одежду и обувь для занятий спортом в 68 странах. Не секрет, что кроссовки, какими бы современными они не были, быстро изнашиваются. Специалисты компании поняли, что менять нужно не технологию изготовления и конструкцию обуви, а материал. Использование графена – верный шаг на пути к повышению качества подошв.

Доктор Манчестерского университета Аравинд Виджайарагаван утверждает: «Графен необычайно гибкий, он может быть согнут, скручен, сложен и растянут без какого-либо повреждения. При добавлении его к резине, используемой в обуви G-Series inov-8, графен передает все свои свойства, в том числе и прочность. Наша уникальная рецептура делает эту обувь на 50% более прочной, на 50% более эластичной и на 50% более устойчивой к износу, чем соответствующая стандартная резиновая резина без графена».

Доктор Манчестерского университета Аравинд Виджайарагаван

Доктор Манчестерского университета Аравинд Виджайарагаван, фото WEB

Усиленная графеном резина, за счет гибкости, способна обеспечить более эффективное сцепление с любой поверхностью пола в зале или беговой дорожки на улице. В кроссовках будет удобно заниматься и в помещении, в под открытым небом в любое время года.

Революционное решение наверняка станет новым этапом производства спортивной обуви и одежды, ведь конкуренция не заставит себя ждать, и каждый производитель захочет предоставить улучшенный продукт с минимальной степенью изнашиваемости.

Анна Кирякова, Россия, Пермь

Статьи