info@vlv-mag.com

Exclusive information portal

NEXT GEN ATP Finals 2018.

Staff forge for adult tournaments

The final youth tennis tournament NEXT GEN ATP Finals 2018 was held in Milan from 6 to 10 November. It was attended by 8 of the best tennis players under 21 inclusive. The favorites were Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas, Australian Alex de Minaur and Russian Andrey Rublev. As a result, they took the first three places, although these victories were given to them very difficult.

First, the German athlete Alexander Zverev and Canadian Denis Shapovalov were declared for the tournament, but Alexander was removed from this tournament for the second time for a very good reason - he was selected for the final adult ATP tournament in London (last year he was third, now the fifth), and did not want spend strength on the youth tournament. And Denis Shapovalov refused because of fatigue.

Alex de Minor took second place

Alex de Minaur took second place, photo © Evgeny Utkin

This only gave more intrigue in the tournament, where all players were fairly even (world rating from 15 to 80), and the results were less predictable. Perhaps it was only easier to play with Italian Liam Caruana (Wild card, 622).

The players were divided into two groups, A and B. In the first one, the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas (15 ATP), was immediately distinguished. Stefanos (or Stepan, he has a Russian mother and coach Yulia Salnikova) - a very original player, as they say, is very similar in style to Roger Federer. He completed the games in Group A with three wins, while all his contenders won only one match each. So the second player in the group was determined by the best difference of sets. It turned out to be the Spaniard Jaume Munar (7, 80), who bypassed American Frances Tiafoe (3, 44) and Pole Hubert Hurkacz (6, 79).

Jaume Munar

Jaume Munar, photo © Evgeny Utkin

In group B was notices Australian Alex de Minaur (2, 33). He also won all three matches. By the way, Alex de Minaur is the youngest athlete in the tournament, and he made the biggest take-off in a year (rising by about 200 positions in the adult ATP ranking). Therefore, they predict a bright future to him. Russian Andrey Rublev won 2 matches, the match with American Taylor Fritz (4, 49) was especially dramatic, which took 5 sets.

Fritz won only one match against Caruana. Caruana lost all matches. Andrey Rublev was one of the victory's contender, because he was the only participant of last year’s tournament, and he played there in the final and lost to South Korean representative Chun Hyun. In addition, Andrey has the strongest serve, a huge potential, but not enough stability (and he had an injury).

Taylor Fritz

Taylor Fritz, photo © nextgenfinals

The semifinals turned out to be very tense, at both it took 5 sets. Stefanos Tsitsipas beat Andrey Rublev, and only at tie-break. At some point, Tsitsipas became so nervous that he smashed his headphones, his hand into the blood - but then he calmed down. In another semi-final, Alex de Minaur defeated Jaume Munar.

The final matches took place on Saturday. Andrey Rublev knocked out the “bronze”, at tie-break of the fifth set, beating Jaume Munar. About the drama of the match can says score - 1: 4, 4: 3 (7: 4), 2: 4, 4: 2, 4: 3 (7: 3) - and statistics. Rublev 10 times made aces, made 7 double faults. Munar made 15 aces, not a single fault on the serve. Rublev realized only 2 break points out of 12 possible, Munar implemented 3 breaks out of 8 possible. And despite such statistics, Andrey won. And he received 116 thousand dollars in prize money.

Andrey Rublev (left) and Evgeny Utkin (right)

Andrey Rublev (left) and Evgeny Utkin (right), photo © Evgeny Utkin

In the final, Tsitsipas beat Alex de Minaur in four sets with a score of 2: 4, 4: 1, 4: 3 (7: 3), 4: 3 (7: 3). Tsitsipas made 10 aces, did not make a single double fault and realized one break-point of 8. De Minaur made 4 aces, one fault in the serve and one realized break of three. Tsitsipas earned a little more than 400 thousand dollars in prize money.

It is worth telling about the new rules that were introduced last year at this tournament. In particular, the match is played not from three, but from five sets, but they are played not up to 6 won games, but only up to 4. With the score 3: 3 a tie-break is assigned. With the score 40:40, the decisive point in the game is played immediately (no-ad). This greatly reduces the match time.

Stephanos Tsitsipas won the tournament

Stephanos Tsitsipas won the tournament, photo © nextgenfinals

In addition, no more than five minutes are given for a warm-up before the match from the moment that the second player arrives, no more than 25 seconds to prepare to serve, no more than one medical timeout per game for the player. The game does not stop when you touch the rope at the serve. Linear judges have disappeared, only electronics helps the referee on the tower. The boys, who served towels to the players, also disappeared, but this is already a trifle compared to the enormous changes listed above. Who knows which of these innovations will take root in adult tournaments?

But without a doubt, the participants of this tournament will soon compete with the leaders of world tennis, Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer.

Evgeny Utkin, Milan, Italy

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

NEXT GEN ATP Finals 2018.

Кузница кадров для взрослых турниров

Итоговый молодёжный турнир по теннису NEXT GEN ATP Finals проходил в Милане с 6 по 10 ноября. В нем участвовали 8 лучших теннисистов до 21 года включительно. Фаворитами считались грек Стефанос Циципас, австралиец Алекс де Минаур и россиянин Андрей Рублёв. В результате они и заняли три первых места соответственно, хотя и дались им эти победы совсем непросто.

Сначала на турнир были заявлены немецкий спортсмен Александр Зверев и канадец Денис Шаповалов, но Александр второй год подряд снимается с этого турнира по очень уважительной причине – он отобрался в итоговый взрослый турнир ATP в Лондоне (в прошлом году третьим, сейчас пятым), и не хотел тратить силы на молодежный турнир. А Денис Шаповалов отказался от усталости. 

Алекс де Минор занял второе место

Алекс де Минаур занял второе место, фото © Evgeny Utkin

Это внесло только больше интриги в турнир, где все игроки были достаточно ровными (мировой рейтинг от 15 до 80), и результаты были менее предсказуемыми. Быть может, проще было играть только с итальянцем Лиамом Каруана (Wild card, 622).

Игроков разбили на две группы, А и В. В первой сразу выделялся грек Стефанос Циципас, первый номер посева (15 АТР). Стефанос (или Степан, у него русская мама и тренер Юлия Сальникова) – очень оригинальный игрок, как говорят, по стилю игры очень похож на Роджера Федерера. Он завершил игры в группе А с трех побед, в то время как его соперники все выиграли только по одному матчу. Так что второй игрок в группе определился по лучшей разнице сетов. Им оказался испанец Хауме Мунар (7 номер посева, 80 в мировом рейтинге), который обошел посеянных выше американца Фрэнсиса Тиафо (3, 44) и поляка Хуберта Хуркача (6, 79). 

Хауме Мунар

Хауме Мунар, фото © Evgeny Utkin

В группе В был заметен австралиец Алекс де Минаур (2 номер посева, 33 в мире). Он тоже выиграл все три матча. Кстати, Алекс де Минаур является самым молодым атлетом турнира, и он совершил самый большой взлет за год (поднявшись примерно на 200 позиций во взрослом рейтинге АТР). Поэтому ему пророчат блестящее будущее. Россиянин Андрей Рублев выиграл 2 матча (особенно драматичен был матч с американцем Тейлором Фритцем (4, 49), на который ушло 5 сетов. 

Фритц выиграл только один матч против Каруаны. Каруана проиграл все матчи. Андрея Рублёва ставили как одного из претендентов, потому как он был единственным участником прошлогоднего турнира, причём он там играл в финале и уступил представителю Южной Кореи Чхун Хён. К тому же у Андрея сильнейшая подача, огромный потенциал, но не хватает стабильности (да и была травма).

Тейлор Фритц

Тейлор Фритц, фото © nextgenfinals

Полуфиналы оказались очень напряженными, на обоих потребовалось 5 сетов. Стефанос Циципас обыграл Андрея Рублева, причем только на тай-брейке. В какой-то момент Циципас так разнервничался, что разбил свои наушники, руку в кровь – но потом успокоился. В другом семифинале Алекс де Минаур победил Хауме Мунара.

В субботу состоялись заключительные матчи. Андрей Рублев выбил «бронзу», на тай-брейке пятого сета обыграв Хауме Мунара. О драматизме матча говорит и счёт - 1:4, 4:3 (7:4), 2:4, 4:2, 4:3 (7:3) – и статистика. Рублёв 10 раз подал на вылет, допустил 7 двойных ошибок. Мунар сделал 15 эйсов, ни одной ошибки на подаче. Рублев реализовал только 2 брейк-пойнта из 12 возможных, Мунар реализовал 3 брейка из 8 возможных. И несмотря на такую статистику, Андрей победил.  И получил 116 тыс. долларов призовых.

Андрей Рублёв (слева) и Евгений Уткин (справа)

Андрей Рублёв (слева) и Евгений Уткин (справа), фото © Evgeny Utkin

В финале Циципас в четырёх партиях обыграл Алекса де Минаура со счётом 2:4, 4:1, 4:3 (7:3), 4:3 (7:3). Циципас 10 раз подал на вылет, не допустил ни одной двойной ошибки и реализовал один брейк-пойнт из 8. Де Минаур совершил 4 эйса, одну ошибку на подаче и один реализованный брейк из трёх. Циципас заработал чуть больше 400 тыс. долларов призовых.

Стоит рассказать и о новых правилах, которые ввели ещё в прошлом году на этом турнире. В частности, матч разыгрываться не из трёх, а из пяти сетов, но они играются не до 6 выигранных геймов, а только до 4. При счёте 3:3 назначается тай-брейк. При счёте 40:40 сразу разыгрывается решающее очко в гейме, без привычных больше-меньше (no-ad). Это сильно сокращает время матча.

Стефанос Циципас победил в турнире

Стефанос Циципас победил в турнире, фото © nextgenfinals

Кроме этого, даётся не более пяти минут на разминку перед матчем с момента прихода второго игрока, не более 25 секунд на подготовку к подаче, не более одного медицинского тайм-аута за матч для игрока. Игра не останавливается при касании троса во время подачи. Исчезли линейные судьи, арбитру на вышке помогает только электроника. Исчезли и мальчики, которые подавали полотенца игрокам, но это уже совсем мелочь по сравнению с перечисленными выше колоссальными изменениями. Кто знает, какие из этих новшеств приживутся во взрослых турнирах?

Но без сомнения, участники этого турнира скоро составят достойную конкуренцию лидерам мирового тенниса, Новаку Джоковичу, Рафаэлю Надалю и Роджеру Федереру.

Евгений Уткин, Милан, Италия

Статьи