info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Scientists identified genes responsible for chronotype

While owls sleep, the day passes by

Consider these horrible words: “Monday”, “alarm clock”, “boss” ― if you are an “owl”, facing these words in one sentence is worse than being shot. People of this chronotype have hard time living in the world made for “larks”. Inability to unleash their potential often leads night people to depression.

It’s hard to call an “owl’s” morning good if it begins before noon, but night people have to wake up at the same time as early-risers do. That is why they are constantly late for work, feel sleepy and generally look unseemly in the morning. But having fully woken up around lunch, night people are puzzled to see their co-workers starting to feel tired. How can you synchronize with the “lark” world?

“Owls” are constantly late for work, feel sleepy and generally look unseemly in the morning

“Owls” are constantly late for work, feel sleepy and generally look unseemly in the morning, photo WEB

Of course, the best possible advice is to live according to your inner clock. It guarantees good health, emotional balance and perfect moods… Alas, the reality makes this task almost impossible to accomplish for “owls”. Everything from food markets to banks works in accord with the “lark” rhythm.

What can help night-birds to feel more comfortable in the broad daylight?

Your physical activity peaks at 6―7 p.m., so take advantage of it and have a workout.  Visit a gym, a swimming pool, a tennis court. Maybe the physical exercise will help you fall asleep and render your day regimen slightly more comfortable.

It’s better to prepare your clothes in the evening, so upon waking up you won’t have to spend extra time

It’s better to prepare your clothes in the evening, so upon waking up you won’t have to spend extra time, photo WEB

True “owls” are very few. As far as evolution is concerned, their life rhythm is unnatural because night is for predators ― humans would better sleep somewhere safe. In the primeval society people of this chronotype probably served as night guards, but they were a minority. As modern studies suggest, from 40 to 65 % of people are “owls”. Where have they come from?

Regrettable as it is, “owliness” is often a result of self-indulgence. The second factor turning a “lark” into an “owl” is surrounding. Its influence is especially strong in adolescence, when real life begins at night. Modern kids sometimes become “owls” unwillingly, when their nocturnal parents fail to organize the day properly for the child to go to bed in time and wake up easily next morning to go to school.

Как ни печально, но нередко «совизм» — результат неорганизованности

Regrettable as it is, “owliness” is often a result of self-indulgence, photo WEB

First of all, find out whether you are a true “owl”. Or maybe your nocturnal lifestyle is a result of a long-established habit? For that, take several days off, deactivate all your gadgets and go about your business measuredly. Let your body tire naturally and go to sleep when you want to. Watch your condition for three-four days — in absence of computers, social networks, work and urgent issues, do you really stay awake at 3 a.m.? If changes do occur, then maybe your “owliness” isn’t of a genetic nature, but caused by overconcern or poor time management.

Victoria Romanova, Moscow, Russia

Articles

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

Сова спит — работа идёт

Сова спит — работа идёт

Вы замечали, что все самые страшные слова заканчиваются буквосочетанием «ник»? Понедель-ник, началь-ник, будиль-ник. А если вы сова, то комбинация этих трёх слов хуже выстрела. Людям с таким хронотипом приходится несладко в мире, который «заточен» под жаворонков, а невозможность полноценно реализовать себя нередко приводит к депрессиям.

Совиное утро трудно назвать добрым, если оно началось раньше полудня, но обычно людям-совам приходится просыпаться вместе с жаворонками. Оттого они постоянно опаздывают на работу, спят на ходу и вообще с утра выглядят не лучшим образом. Зато проснувшись ближе к обеду, обладатели такого хронотипа в недоумении взирают на уже начавших подтормаживать коллег. Как же синхронизировать себя с этим «жаворонковым» миром?

Совы постоянно опаздывают на работу, спят на ходу и вообще с утра выглядят не лучшим образом

Совы постоянно опаздывают на работу, спят на ходу и вообще с утра выглядят не лучшим образом, фото WEB

Конечно, лучший совет — жить в соответствии со своими внутренними часами. Это залог здоровья, душевного равновесия, хорошего настроения… Но увы, на деле это оказывается для сов почти невыполнимой задачей. Всё, от продуктовых рынков и заканчивая банками, работает в соответствии с ритмом жаворонков.

Что поможет ночным птицам более комфортно ощущать себя при свете дня?

Лучше подготовить одежду с вечера, чтобы утром не тратить время на сборы, фото WEB

Лучше подготовить одежду с вечера, чтобы утром не тратить время на сборы, фото WEB

Истинных сов, на самом деле, очень мало. Их ритм жизни неестественен, с точки зрения эволюции, ведь ночь — время хищников и человеку в этот период безопаснее спать в укромном месте. Люди с таким хронотипом, вероятно, выполняли роль часовых в первобытном обществе, но их было меньшинство. По результатам современных исследований, совами являются от 40 до 65 % людей. Откуда же они взялись?

Как ни печально, но нередко «совизм» — результат неорганизованности. Второй фактор, который превращает жаворонка в сову, — окружение. Особенно его влияние сильно в молодости, когда настоящая жизнь начинается ночью. Современные дети часто становятся совами поневоле, когда совы-родители не могут организовать день так, чтобы любимое чадо вовремя отошло ко сну, а утром бодро встало в школу.

Как ни печально, но нередко «совизм» — результат неорганизованности

Как ни печально, но нередко «совизм» — результат неорганизованности, фото WEB

Потому, для начала, выясните, действительно ли вы сова? Или ночной образ жизни продиктован многолетней привычкой? Для этого организуйте несколько дней выходных и, отключив все гаджеты, занимайтесь делами в размеренном темпе. Дайте организму естественным образом устать и ложитесь спать, как только захотите. Понаблюдайте за собой три-четыре дня — действительно ли в отсутствие компьютера, соцсетей, работы и забот вы не можете уснуть до 3 часов ночи? Если заметите изменения, то, возможно, вы скатываетесь в «совизм» не под влиянием генов, а под грузом забот или из-за неправильного распределения времени.

Виктория Романова, Россия, Москва

Статьи