info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Publication date

Roberto Matta

Roberto Matta

Roberto Matta, an artist born in Chile, worked in Paris in the 30s, studied with the founder of Dadaism Duchamp in the USA in the 40s, and led a nomadic life in the 50s, traveling in Europe and America. In the USSR, he was considered a mentally unhealthy person, and meanwhile, one of the most expensive artists in the world, Jackson Pollock, was inspired by his work.

In his homeland, Matta became a legendary figure, but he asked not to emphasize either his origin or the artistic direction of his creations. He called himself a citizen of the world and was known as a unique example of pure freedom in creativity. Masters consider it to be a surrealist, but he did not accept the genre framework, did not correspond to any direction of painting and created his masterpieces at the intersection of art, mechanics and biology.

Roberto Sebastian Matta

Roberto Sebastian Matta, photo WEB

Roberto was born in Chilean Santiago in 1911. At the request of relatives who did not consider the profession of the artist serious enough, he was educated at the Faculty of Architecture, but it was architecture that largely defined him as an artist. In the early 30s, the profession brought an intelligent young man to the Le Corbusier bureau, and from there to his art workshop, where the career of a new painter began.

Blue composition

Blue composition, 1937, photo WEB

In Paris, Matta met with the works of Peter Uspensky, whose philosophy set the direction for his future work. Uspensky was an adherent of the Fourth Dimension Theory, which, in his opinion, complements the third with a sense of space, movement and time. Without it, the philosopher believed, it is impossible to understand and convey the process of continuous transformation of the world - the inner searches of the young painter were built on this foundation. Once they were supported by the father of surrealism Andre Breton, who noted that his comrade “in a very special way understands the need for an artistic reflection of the four-dimensionality of the universe. In his paintings there is no intention, everything was born in the process of immersion in the divine. "

Internal content

Internal content, 1943, photo WEB

The name of his works refers to the special philosophy of Roberto Matta. “I am trying to see other universes, strange and full of various forms. I want to overcome the human limit, ”said the artist. At the beginning of his career, Matta painted crazy graphic landscapes where biomorphic objects live, and then proceeded to create monumental panels, up to six meters in length.

Roberto believed that the artist’s mission is to overcome the limitation of human vision, and his work demonstrates a transition from a clear “here” to an unknown “there”. The paintings of the artist Roberto Sebastian Matta give rise to anxiety in the soul - they look like strange dreams in which the “inner landscapes”, as he called them, give the unconscious outlet bypassing the intellect. Under the influence of non-Euclidean geometry, he clothed mental constructions in a form and created a new space that was beyond the scope of the eye's perspective.

Liberos

Liberos, 1969, фото WEB

When Matta died, a day of mourning was announced in Chile. At that time, in France, the Foreign Minister told: “He was a child of Cervantes and Rabelais, intoxicated by images, color and space. He lived and worked contrary to all fashion, drew up mustache for politicians, did not recognize any compromises, and listened only to the symphony of space. ”

Articles

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

Дата публикации:

Роберто Матта

Роберто Матта

Роберто Матта, мастер кисти, родившийся в Чили, в 30-х годах творил в Париже, в 40-х учился у основателя дадаизма Дюшана в США, а в 50-х вёл кочевническую жизнь, останавливаясь то в Европе, то в Америке. В СССР его считали человеком психически нездоровым, а между тем, его работами вдохновлялся один из наиболее дорогих художников мира Джексон Поллок.

На своей родине Матта стал фигурой легендарной, но сам он просил не делать акцент ни на своём происхождении, ни на художественном направлении своих творений. Он называл себя гражданином мира и слыл уникальным образцом чистой свободы в творчестве. Мастера считают сюрреалистом, но он не принимал жанровых рамок, не соответствовал ни одному направлению живописи и творил свои шедевры на стыке искусства, механики и биологии.

Роберто Себастьян Матта

Роберто Себастьян Матта, фото WEB

Роберто появился на свет в чилийском Сантьяго в 1911 году. По просьбе родных, не считавших профессию художника достаточно серьёзной, он получил образование на архитектурном факультете, однако именно архитектура во многом и определила его, как художника. В начале 30-х годов профессия привела интеллигентного юношу в бюро Ле Корбюзье, а оттуда — в его художественную мастерскую, где и начался творческий путь нового живописца.

«Синяя композиция» 1937 г

«Синяя композиция» 1937 г., фото WEB

В Париже Матта познакомился с трудами Петра Успенского, философия которого задала направление его дальнейшей работы. Успенский был приверженцем Теории четвёртого измерения, которое, по его мнению, дополняет третье ощущением пространства, движения и времени. Без него, считал философ, невозможно понять и передать процесс непрерывной трансформации мира — на этом фундаменте и строились внутренние поиски юного живописца. Когда-то их поддержал отец сюрреализма Андре Бретон, который, отметил, что его товарищ «совершенно особенным образом понимает необходимость художественного отражения четырёхмерности вселенной. В его картинах нет намеренного, всё родилось в процессе погружения в божественное».

«Внутреннее содержание» 1943 г.

«Внутреннее содержание» 1943 г., фото WEB

К особой философии Мастера кисти отсылают название экспозиций его работ. «Я пытаюсь увидеть другие вселенные, странные и полные различных форм. Я хочу преодолеть предел человеческого», — говорил художник. В начале творческого пути Матта рисовал безумные графические пейзажи, где живут биоморфные объекты, а затем перешёл к созданию монументальных панно, до шести метров в длину.

Роберто считал, что предназначение художника в том, чтобы преодолевать ограничение человеческого зрения, и его работы демонстрируют переходное состояние от ясного «здесь» к неизвестному «там». Картины художника Роберто Себастьяна Матта рождают в душе тревогу — они похожи на странные сны, в которых «внутренние пейзажи», как он их сам называл, дают выход бессознательному в обход интеллекта. Находясь под влиянием неевклидовой геометрии, он облекал умственные построения в форму и создавал новое пространство, находящееся вне пределов видимой глазом перспективы.

«Либерос» 1969 г. Размер полотна 30 кв.метров

«Либерос» 1969 г., фото WEB

Когда Матта умер, в Чили объявили день траура. А в это время во Франции министр иностранных дел читал надгробную речь: «Он был дитя Сервантеса и Рабле, опьянённое образами, цветом и пространством. Он жил и творил вопреки всякой моде, дорисовывал усы политикам, не признавал никаких компромиссов и прислушивался только к симфонии космоса».

Статьи