info@vlv-mag.com

eco-information portal

Youth Slang

Youth Slang

Let us travel to the past and learn when slang appeared in Russia.

Many parents are concerned about their children speaking a weird and not always understandable language. The majority of parents believe that these words pollute the speech.
Indeed, we can frequently hear weird words from school and university students. Let us find out what language the youth speak and who makes up these not always understandable words. The answer is quite evident: these are slang words and they are made up by teenagers.

It is unconditionally true that in order to be a literate and educated person, one should know and read classical literature, be exposed to refined speech of radio and TV anchors, learn the rules of the Russian language. Young students, however, live with the modern times; they use the internet and gadgets widely, so it’s simply isn’t always possible for them to speak and write in classical Russian.

Сленговые слова выдумывают подросткиSlang words are made up by teenagers, photo WEB

Let us travel to the past and learn when slang appeared in Russia.
It began in the 1920s. Many teenagers became homeless; they were exposed to semi-criminal environment. And the young people of that time picked up many jargon words from criminal society.

But in the 50s it was Stilyagi (a Western-oriented Soviet subculture) who raised slang proliferation to the new level. Criminal jargon was substituted with casual words that reflected the spirit of the age: to style up (to dance), music on bones (gramophone discs copied to X-ray photographs), the English word “money” for currency, Broadway (a central street of any city), shoelaces in a glass (parents at home).

During the Stagnation (70s-80s) youth subcultures appeared in the USSR. Members of the subculture groups used slang to protest against the USSR ideology. The most widely used words of that time were (often) erroneously derived from English: hair (long hair), session (a concert), face (appearance).

Slang is changing at the speed of light and it’s not surprising at all, photo WEBSlang is changing at the speed of light and it’s not surprising at all, photo WEB

In the late 20th century slang was heavily influenced by proliferation of computers, cellphones and the internet. Due to the Worldwide Web the distribution of information is extremely fast and the virtual world language has confidently assumed its position inside the youth speech. Such words loaned from English as hash-tag, repost, account, nickname, blog, respect accompanied with expressions from popular local memes, are becoming habitual.

Slang is changing at the speed of light and it’s not surprising at all. Almost all the youngsters use social networks, like internet-memes, watch video hosting ― all of which nurture slang expressions. Freshly coined trends gave birth to an astounding number of new words, while transforming the existing ones.

It is practically impossible to combat youth slang ― the phenomenon itself is transient. When people grow older, they stop using slang expressions; they start to find these words ridiculous and adhere to the literature language instead. And when students get professional education, they start using professional slang.

Ekaterina Tikhonova, Moscow, Russia

Ekaterina Tikhonova, Moscow, Russia

Articles

info@vlv-mag.com

Эко-информационный портал

МОЛОДЁЖНЫЙ СЛЭНГ

Молодежный сленг

Давайте перенесёмся в прошлое и узнаем, когда сленг пришёл в Россию.

Многие родители современной молодежи обеспокоены тем, что их дети разговаривают на странном и не всегда понятном языке. Большинство взрослых считают, что эти слова засоряют речь.
Действительно, мы часто слышим от школьников и студентов странные слова. Давайте разберемся, на каком языке разговаривает молодежь, и кто придумывает эти не всегда понятные словечки. Ответ напрашивается сам собой: это сленговые слова, а выдумывают их сами подростки.

Безусловно, чтобы быть грамотным и образованным человеком, необходимо знать и читать классическую литературу, слушать отточенную речь дикторов радио и телевидения, изучать правила русского языка. Однако, учащаяся молодежь, живет в ногу со временем, широкого использует интернет и гаджеты, поэтому говорить и писать на классическом русском языке просто не получается.

Сленговые слова выдумывают подросткиСленговые слова выдумывают подростки, фото WEB

Давайте перенесемся в прошлое, и узнаем, когда сленг «пришел» в Россию.
Он начал свой путь в 20-е годы прошлого века. Многие подростки становились беспризорниками и вращались в околокриминальных кругах. Поэтому молодёжь того времени почерпнула у блатного общества много жаргонных слов.

Но уже в 50-е годы стиляги подняли сленг на новый уровень. Блатной диалект уступил место повседневным словам, отражающим дух эпохи: стилять (танцевать), музыка на костях (запись пластинок на рентгеновских снимках), мани (деньги), Бродвей (центральная улица города), шнурки в стакане (родители дома).

В период застоя (70-80-е годы) в СССР появились субкультурные молодёжные движения. Неформалы использовали свой сленг как социальный протест против идеологии того времени. Самые распространённые слова той эпохи: пpикид (одежда), хаеp (длинные волосы), сeйшн (концерт), утюг (фарцовщик), фейc (внешний вид).

Сленг изменяется со скоростью света и в этом нет ничего удивительногоСленг изменяется со скоростью света и в этом нет ничего удивительного, фото WEB

В конце XX века на сленг повлияла общедоступность компьютеров, мобильных телефонов и интернета. С помощью Всемирной паутины распространение информации происходит очень быстро, и язык виртуального мира уже основательно проник в молодёжную речь. Такие слова, как чатиться, хэш-тэг, репост, аккаунт, никнейм, блог, жжёт, превед медвед, респект, имхо, зафрендить, сегодня практически у всех на слуху.

Сленг изменяется со скоростью света и в этом нет ничего удивительного. Практически вся молодёжь пользуется соцсетями, увлекается интернет-мэмами, просматривает видео-хостинги, которые распространяют сленговые выражения. Из-за появления новых трендов, за последнее время изменилось и родилось невероятное количество слов.

Бороться с молодёжным сленгом практически нереально, ведь он сам – явление непостоянное. Взрослея, человек прекращает употреблять сленговые выражения, осознавая их нелепость, и начинает говорить на общепринятом языке. В дальнейшем, приобретая специальность, люди часто используют профессиональные сленговые слова.

Екатерина Тихонова, Россия, Москва

Екатерина Тихонова, Россия, Москва

Статьи